Godspeed, Mike Baker

“Grief, I’ve learned, is really just love. It’s all the love you want to give, but cannot. All that unspent love gathers up in the corners of your eyes, the lump in your throat, and in that hollow part of your chest. Grief is just love with no place to go.” (Jamie Anderson)

I suppose if grief is a measure of love, then I loved Mike Baker a great deal. Because what I feel today at his passing is purely grief. At least for now, it is beyond further expression. Mickey, you are and will be missed….

3 Replies to “Godspeed, Mike Baker”

  1. I just thank the Lord, and Mike, for getting us together a couple times the past year. At least for a short time we were all 20 again. I shall miss Mike, his laugh, his sense of humor and his love of family and friends. I’m sure there is a Hill in heaven that we shall meet again:)

  2. You’re so good with words my friend and it is greatly appreciated. I cried on my walk today after getting George’s phone call. Unfortunately, his first words were, you know why I’m calling. I’ve tried to follow words that I saw not too long ago, but it’s been very difficult. These words were don’t cry that it’s over, smile that it happened.

  3. Extremely well put  – I, too, love Mike a great deal.  This has been so very difficult.  Sure going to miss him!!

Leave a comment